Splatoon 2 Gets Global Testfire In Late March, Supports LAN Play & More

tumblr_ol4dfg8KjG1u3akyno2_540

Early Switch owners will get a taste of Splatoon 2 before its summer launch in an upcoming Global Testfire. The action kicks off on March 24th and continues each day through the 26th. For Switch owners in North America, here are the exact times Nintendo has laid out:

March 24

  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET
  • 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
  • 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26

  • 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

The upcoming Testfire will allow the use of four of Splatoon 2’s weapons, including the new Splat Dualies and remixed versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger, each returning from the original Splatoon.

Nintendo also confirmed additional new features coming to the Splatoon 2 experience. Local LAN play with up to 8 players will be possible for the first time without internet, including the game’s expected local wireless multiplayer with 8 Switch systems. Splatoon 2 is also introducing a Photography/Spectator Mode for use in private battles. This will allow players to observe matches and capture photogenic moments, presumed to be shared via the Switch’s sharing button on its left Joy-Con controller. Finally, all previously released Splatoon amiibo will be fully compatible with Splatoon 2.

While Splatoon 2 has no firm release date, it launches this summer, while the Switch launches worldwide on March 3rd. Splatoon 2’s launch will coincide with the launch of a mobile app that ties to the Switch’s matchmaking and voice chat functions.

 

 

Share this post:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on TumblrEmail this to someoneShare on StumbleUponDigg this

About The Author

Editor-in-Chief

When he's not writing about or playing all the great Nintendo games, Alex Irish works by day at a local book emporium, and the rest of the time, he illustrates and writes online. His favorite video game franchise is Pokemon, but his favorite video game is Resident Evil 4. He also can tell you everything about animation history, from past to present.